Chicken Fajita Salad

21 Aug

Serves 3 (or in our case, 2 for dinner and 1 leftover for Fred’s lunch for work)

Tonight’s dinner needed to be quick and easy since I was in the midst of grocery shopping, laundry, and all sort of miscellaneous stuff today.  So I opted for a super easy and delicious dinner…chicken fajita salad!   I knew I wanted to make this this week so I got all the ingredients at the grocery store.  Organic bell peppers are pretty expensive, so I don’t buy them very often, and heaven forbid I should let them go bad in my fridge, so I made sure to have a plan on what to do with the rest of them (I bought them in a 3 pack).  So also on the menu this week to make sure I use up those peppers, pastrami roll-ups, and butternut squash curry.  Yum all around!

Did I mention this recipe is super easy and super fast?  Here’s what you’ll need to have and do!

Ingredients:

– Red onion

– 1 bell pepper (I used part of a red and part of a yellow to make it look prettier!)

– Lettuce of choice (we used a romaine and spinach mix because that’s what was already in the fridge!)

– Organic chicken breast (1, cubed)

– Carrot, 1 large

– Cucumber, 1 small

– Cherry tomatoes

– Seasoning for chicken – 1 heaping teaspoon of jamaican jerk, and 1 heaping teaspoon of chipotle chili pepper, salt and pepper to taste.

– 2-4 T of oil of choice (I used coconut oil)

– Dressing of choice (I used the mayo recipe from “It Starts with Food” and then added parsley, smoked paprika, 2 cloves of garlic, and chipotle chili powder to give it a nice smoky mexican taste to the dressing…and it was GOOD!)

Directions:

– In a skillet add 1-2 T of oil, onion, and bell peppers.  Sauté until soft and the onions are starting to caramelize.

– In a separate skillet, add 1-2 T of oil, and chicken.  I didn’t add my seasoning until it was fully cooked because I pulled out a couple of pieces to chop up for Pebbles for part of her dinner.

– Wash and prep your lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumber.

– Once the chicken and hot veggies are done assemble your salad and enjoy!  Like I said, SUPER easy and quick!

And I had enough leftover to make a to go salad for Fred’s lunch tomorrow.  I added all of the ingredients in a glass mason jar, and then put the lettuce in a separate jar so he can heat up the chicken/pepper mix and add it to his lettuce!  I tend to try and prep the lunches for the next day before we sit down to eat so Fred doesn’t wind up going back for more just because “it’s so good” it’s already done!

Leave a Reply

Everyday Paleo

Paleo Recipes and Paleo Talk Podcast

Pint-Sized Paleo

Seriously, I would sit and eat goldfish and oreos all day if I had it in my house. (Well pre-paleo I would have) But if it's not good for me, how on earth is it good for my baby?!?! So now, we are living a paleo / primal lifestyle, on a budget, with a baby!

